USB port reinforcement?

Recently the cable holder on my UHK broke off. As a result, usb-c port on the keyboard is in danger, because of excess movement of the cable.
It seems that the cable holder is a part of the keyboard’s case and not replaceable by itself. I wonder, if there are any DIY solutions that can hold the cable in place?
(bonus points if the cable remains replaceable after the fix)

For instance drill a hole above the holder, and fix the cable in place with a piece of string or wire?

1 Like

To me, that points to a need for cable strain relief fittings of some type.

Maybe a string can be looped around the foot that is at left in the photo, then tied to the cable, and drawn tight to provide some form of strain relief to the USB-C port.

However, I have no experience with or expertise in such things. Maybe something could be found on Thingiverse?

…Bob

1 Like

This is one of the fewer minor points of the keyboard. I would very much prefer a simple connector like many keyboards have. Then you could add a magnetic adapter if you like.

To the problem. A small “housing” around the cable could be attached via velcro. I fasten many things with velcro with good succes. A quick fix could be to wrap around the supplied velcro a few times to make the “housing” and then just add a soft or hooked velcro to the keyboard back, choice depending on how you decide to wrap the velcro around the cable with soft or hook outside pointing. I would use the soft side and a hook velcro for the case. Benefit is that the cable-velcro will not rip the coiled cable in the middle, if it get’s in contact with it.

I share the same issue

1 Like

Admittedly, the UHK is not very robust in this respect. We’ll fix this issue in later products. In the meantime, Karel’s workaround is a simple and sensible one.

1 Like