Reviewing feature requests, and adding my own thoughts

Hi,

I have been using the UHK v2 for a few years now I think. I think I got it January of '22? Or maybe it was '23? I really like it. Well I was kind of bored and started seeing other interesting split ergo keyboards. Either the Kinesis boards, or the newer Glove80, something like the Moonlander, or whatever your wallet, skills, and time would get you from a building a custom board. I was getting keyboard envy. My UHK doesn’t have a keyboard well. Home row modifiers? Would they help me? I don’t remember them in the Agent, but let me check. It’s there! Secondary roles and I just never bothered to even try them out. I shoulda known - the UHK software is like half the reason I wanted this board. Either way, it’s good to be delighted by my investment. I realized after being dazzled by all these other cool and expensive boards, they’re all good but most of them won’t work for me. The UHK has all the things. I may be a software engineer like these other ergo keyboard reviewers, but the demands of my niche of our landscape is different from theirs and the UHK serves me well in that regard. I won’t get a different board yet, but I would get a UHK v3 if it bridged the gap even more.

I think the compromises in the UHK v2 are well reasoned. I hope a v3 can make meaningfully different compromises while keeping the real possibility that there could be a place for the v2 still. With all this in mind, I was curious what kind of hardware feature requests others have shared and started browsing our forums. I put together a spreadsheet I could share with mediafire or something, but for now let me just do my best to recap what I found here. I haven’t noticed a feature request tracker/recap thing anywhere else so I hope this could be a useful review.