Curious about UHK + AHK

Just generally curious about what the community thinks of how these two tools can or should work together.

I was a mild/moderate Auto Hot Key user before getting my UHK and now I have moved several functions directly to the UHK. I am not a programmer and it’s taking me some time to fully internalize all of the macro capabilities. So it’s still unclear if my UHK can take over all aspects of what I am accomplishing with. Am I in the right headspace thinking that eventually I will be able to move away from AHK entirely?

If you want to move away from AHK is a question of your goals. UHK works at each computer attached, but can surely not replace all what AHK can do [1].

AHK on the other hand needs to run locally, but has the advantage that it will work with a laptop keyboard. I was using AHK in the past and now move “everything” which can be moved to UHK, with many changes and improvements, while at the same time starting to use a custom layout I came up with (based on ADNW’s KOY/ XOY variant). After that I will try to get that functionality to AHK again, because both approaches have advantages and disadvantages.

[1] maybe it can replace what you did. But AHK can do “everything”, while UHK is a keyboard in the end :wink:

As @rpnfan already wrote, AHK and UHK can do similar things, but they are achieved in a different way.

AHK: runs locally on the PC, but also works with a Laptop built-in keyboard.
UHK: needs no local installation, works with any computer.

I use AHK (on Windows), keyd (on Linux), and UHK together in my setup. I am currently documenting it in this github repo: GitHub - mhantsch/maxtend: Extended keyboard layers for easy navigation and functionality based on Colemak

It’s not that moving away from AHK is a specific goal. But if I can consolidate tools, I will.

And I see much feature parity between AHK and UHK.
Key mapping is an obvious one.